2005 PIL Hall of Fame Celebration of Champions

Sunday, May 22, 2005
Tiger Woods Center, Nike Campus, Beaverton

Photos of 2005 Spring Banquet

Katy Brown emcees banquet photo

The PIL Hall of Fame made this year’s Spring Recognition Program a top priority. The executive committee decided to make this annual event more visible than the previous six events and more significant to the ten participating Portland high schools.

The program was upgraded dramatically with a venue change. This spring’s program took place on the Nike campus in the new Tiger Woods Center on Sunday May 22, 2005. Refreshments were served for those honored and their families. Michael Holton, University of Portland’s men’s basketball coach keynoted the recognition ceremony and Katy Brown, sportscaster for KATU emceed. Those honored included all of the PIL championship teams, the coaches of the year from each school, the assistant coaches of the year as well as the Athletic Director of the year.

The highlight of the ceremony was the recognition of the “Outstanding Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year” from each of the schools. Each was awarded a $500 Scholarship to the College of their choice. The two individuals from this group selected as the Top Sportsman and Sportswoman receive a $1500 scholarship. These scholarships are provided by the PIL Hall of Fame through its Sponsorship Program and Fundraising activities. This year’s contributors to the scholarship fund include Joe’s (GI Joe’s), Les Schwab, In Memory of Marsha Richard, and Global Spectrum.

Sportswomen of the Year
Nominees: Benson – Amanda Boggan, Cleveland – Diana Baetscher, Franklin – Meghan Blanchard, Grant – Natalie Todd-Zebell, Jefferson – Daraysha Kennedy, Lincoln – Hannah Oken-Berg, Madison – Staci Heathman, Marshall – Stephanie Rund, Roosevelt – Reina Juhala, Wilson – Mattie Sloss.Winner: Amanda Boggan – Benson.

Sportsmen of the Year
Nominees: Benson – Collin Bacon, Cleveland – Kevin Callahan, Franklin – David Green, Grant – Paul Raglione, Jefferson – Mac Hopson, Lincoln – Taylor Kavanaugh, Madison, Andy Jackson and Tony Stutevoss, Marshall – Steve Cheung, Roosevelt – Nate Roberts, Wilson – Peter New. Winner: Andy Jackson – Madison.

Head Coach of Year
Nominees: Benson – Linda McLellan, Cleveland – Casey Dyer, Franklin – Charles Odenthal, Grant – Gary Thorson, Jefferson – Marshall Haskins, Lincoln – Sara Anderson, Madison – Tracy Jackson, Marshall – Paul Pietrzyk, Roosevelt – John Brunecz, Wilson – Mike Clopton. Winners: Gary Thorson – Grant, Sara Anderson – Lincoln, Mike Clopton – Wilson.

Assistant Coach of the Year
Nominees: Benson – Katie Meyer, Cleveland – Jim McNeely, Franklin – Jacob Michaels, Grant – Kelvin Hall, Jefferson – Paul Kelly, Lincoln – Chad Carlson, Madison – Steve Musaeus, Marshall – Mike Mauhrin, Roosevelt – Aaron Noble, Wilson – Jeremy Shetler. Winner: Chad Carlson – Lincoln.

Athletic Director of the Year Winner: Tim Biamont – Marshall