2006 PIL Hall of Fame Celebration of Champions

Spring PIL Awards and Champions Ceremony

2006 Spring Banquet Photos

The 2006 PIL Hall of Fame Celebration of Champions was held in the Tiger Woods center on the Nike campus on Sunday, May 21.

This is the occasion on which outstanding PIL scholar/athletes and PIL coaches are honored and recognized for their contributions to the entire PIL athletic program.

Sonja Henning, former WNBA basketball player and currently a member of the Portland Public Schools Board of Education, was the guest speaker.

Chad Carlson, head football coach at Lincoln High School, was named recipient of the E. Paul McCall Award that is presented to the Outstanding Coach of the Year. The award is named after long time PIL Director of Athletics Paul McCall.

Madison swimming coach Toni Jacobson was named Marsha Richard Coach of the Year. This award is named after former assistant PIL Director of Athletics and long time coach Marsha Richard.

Capturing the Ron Pheister Assistant Coach of the Year Award was Sonora McDuffie-Thirdgill, girls basketball and volleyball coach at Benson. Pheister also served as PIL Director of Athletics.

Scott Santangelo and Lisa Feuz, co-directors of athletics at Franklin, received the Outstanding Athletic Director of the Year award.

A total of 20 scholar-athletes – two from each PIL high school — were each presented with a $600 scholarship to a higher institution of learning of their choice. The money is provided by the PIL Hall of Fame organization. Following are the recipients:

  • Benson – Ryan Mobley and Kendra Hyatt
  • Cleveland – Mark Gray and Grace Neal
  • Franklin – Colin Koach and Charlotte Trowbridge
  • Grant – Daniel P. Slavik and Cate Morris
  • Jefferson – Marquis Hall/Lathan Wallace and Nyema Sims
  • Lincoln – Vini Colasurdo and Lauren Greif
  • Madison – Anton Antonovich and Bousang Sananixai
  • Marshall – Josh Jacobs and Sandra Shields
  • Roosevelt – Michael Johnson and Allison Griffiths
  • Wilson – Ben Waters and Kayla Weber

Receiving the Robert Blanchard Distinguished Service Award — named after a former superintendent — were Drew Mahalic and Brian Winchester.

Following is the list of those nominated for the E. Paul McCall Coach of the Year Award:

  • Benson – Deanne Larsell
  • Cleveland – Camille Adana
  • Franklin – Richard Lex
  • Grant – Brick Street
  • Jefferson – Montriale Brazille
  • Lincoln – Chad Carlson
  • Madison – Tom Jacobson
  • Marshall – Steve Walmer
  • Roosevelt – Cal Szueber
  • Wilson – Mike Clopton

Nominees from each school for the Ron Pheister Assistant Coach of the Year were:

  • Benson – Sonora McDuffie-Thirdgill
  • Cleveland – Ben Sand
  • Franklin – Don Hopkins
  • Grant – Junior Johnson
  • Jefferson – Paul Kelly
  • Lincoln – Forrest Sherman
  • Madison – Mike MacFerrin
  • Marshall – Jim Canton
  • Roosevelt – Sarah Epstein
  • Wilson – Kent Dorsey